top of page



The Education Group of Ameris University is committed to ensuring equitable access to information and resources. We create an environment where people with disabilities can acquire the same information and enjoy the same services as a person without, as well as be able to do so in an effective fashion, with substantially equivalent ease of use. Our accessibility policy follows benchmark standards for the accessibility of web-based products and services considered essential to ensure compliance with applicable state and federal regulations.

Ameris University Policy

The University will develop, procure, maintain and use information and communication technology that ensure people with disabilities have comparable access to them.

All new or modified online content and material, including the online educational features, will be accessible to people with disabilities as measured by conformance to the standards set forth below, except where doing so would impose a fundamental alteration or undue burden.

In the event of a fundamental alteration or undue burden, the University will provide equally effective alternate access systems. Alternate access will ensure, to the maximum extent possible, that persons with disabilities are afforded an equal opportunity to reach the same level of achievement, in the most integrated setting appropriate to the person’s needs. We are committed to providing information that can be understood by all.

Benchmark Standards

Ameris University adheres to these universally accepted benchmark standards established by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) in meeting accessibility commitments.

  • W3C's Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Level AA

  • W3C's Authoring Tool Accessibility Guidelines (ATAG) 2.0 for software used to create web content; Level AA

  • W3C's User Agent Accessibility Guidelines (UAAG) 1.0 for user agents supplied by the University, including media players To achieve compliance with these standards, the University will use the following specifications and best practices (among others):

  • Web Accessibility Initiative Accessible Rich Internet Applications Suite (WAI-ARIA) 1.0

  • W3C's MathML 3.0 specification for digital mathematical and scientific notation

  • The DAISY Consortium’s Digital Accessible Information System (DAISY) Standard or the International Digital Publishing Forum’s (IDPF) EPUB 3 specification for digital publications and documents

  • W3C's Guidance on Applying WCAG 2.0 to Non-Web Information and Communications Technologies (WCAG2ICT) for non-web software and content

Understanding the four principles of accessibility

The guidelines, put forth by W3C, are organized around the following four principles, which lay the foundation necessary for anyone to access and use web content. Anyone who wants to use the web must have content that is:

  1. Perceivable: Information and user interface components must be presentable to users in ways they can perceive that isn't invisible to all of their senses.

  2. Operable: User interface components and navigation must be operable.

  3. Understandable: Information and the operation of user interface must be understandable.

  4. Robust: Content must be robust enough that it can be interpreted reliably by a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technologies, and remain accessible as technologies and user agents evolve.

bottom of page